October 13, 2010

BBA: Ron Washington Manager of the Year

My blog is a part of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance and one of the neat things the group does is end of the year voting for awards. Here are the results for the first award we voted on, as originally posted on Bronx Baseball Daily.

The Connie Mack Award is our name for the Manager of the Year award. The award is named after the Hall of Fame manager of the Philadelphia Athletics. Mike Scioscia won the first Manager of the Year award that the BBA gave out last season.

Here is how we voted:

  • 1st Place: Ron Washington, Texas Rangers – 26 points
  • 2nd Place: Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota Twins – 24 points
  • 3rd Place: Terry Francona, Boston Red Sox – 20 points

Also receiving votes were Joe Maddon of the Rays, Joe Girardi of the Yankees (obviously), and Cito Gaston.

Over the next few days and weeks we will make announcements on a few more awards: The Willie Mays Award (Manager of the Year), the Goose Gossage Award (Top Reliever), the Walter Johnson Award (Top Pitcher), and the Stan Musial Award (Top Hitter).

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP