January 5, 2011

Full 2011 Hall of Fame ballot results: Roberto Alomar & Bert Blyleven elected

Welcome to baseball immortality, Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven.

Via the Baseball Writers’ Association of America:

Roberto Alomar, a 12-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winning second baseman, and Bert Blyleven, a 287-game winning pitcher who ranks fifth on the all-time strikeout list, were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in balloting verified by Ernst & Young.

What’s done is done. I can see how voters penalized Alomar last year for when he spit in umpire John Hirschbeck’s face. And despite my argument to keep Blyleven out of the Hall, I completely see how 79.7 percent of the voters could value longevity a bit more than dominance. Congrats again to both.

Here are the full balloting results. More on this later.
2011 baseball hall of fame results

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP